Palais Garnier



Lars Hertervig, a Norwegian artist prone to frequent hallucinations, sinks into his lonely madness, confusing his obsession for his art and his guest's daughter. Melancholia, the masterpiece by Norwegian author Jon Fosse, is the basis for the libretto for this opera.

Skogtjern (detail) by Lars HertervigEver fascinated by the relationships among timbres, colors, and images Georg Friedrich Haas, a musician known his deliberate approach and microtonality, meets haunting writing and the flows of awareness and ritornellos of one of today's most outstanding writers.


  • Melancholia
    Opera by Georg Friedrich Haas
    Libretto by Jon Fosse based on the first part of his novel, Melancholia I
    Commissioned by the Opéra national de Paris, World Premiere


Klangforum Wien
Vokalensemble NOVA
Music Director Emilio Pomárico
Producer Stanislas Nordey

A Den Nye Opera coproduction in collaboration with Stavanger, European Culture Capital 2008, den Norske Opera and Ballet and Ultima, the Oslo Contemporary Music Festival.

Photo: Skogtjern (detail), 1865 by Lars Hertervig

June 9, 12, 15, 18, 2008, Palais Garnier - Opéra national de Paris

Version françaisefleche_langueEnglish versionPrintable Version
Day by day / June, 2008